FAQ

  1. What kind of aircraft do the Snowbirds fly?
  2. How many Snowbirds are there?
  3. How many shows do the Snowbirds perform each year?
  4. How much time do the Snowbirds spend travelling?
  5. How does someone become a Snowbird pilot or technician?
  6. How long does each Snowbird stay with the Team?
  7. How is the Snowbird Team Lead (Boss) chosen?
  8. How do I get the Snowbirds to fly at our air show?
  9. What does the Snowbird crest symbolize?
  10. Why is there a blue stripe painted along the side of the jets?
  11. Where did the Snowbirds get their name?
  12. How fast do you fly?
  13. How close are the jets when they are flying in formation?
  14. When the two solo aircraft perform their head-on passes, how fast are they flying and how close do they get to one another?
  15. How is the white smoke made?
  16. I've been to an air show and saw only eight aircraft flying instead of all nine. Was one of them broken?
  17. What happens if the Boss gets sick?
  18. How can I go flying with the Snowbirds?
  19. Can you send me pictures of the Snowbirds?


 

What kind of aircraft do the Snowbirds fly?

The Snowbirds fly the Canadair CT-114 Tutor, a Canadian-built jet that was used by the Canadian Forces as a basic pilot-training aircraft form 1963 until 2000. The Tutor weighs approximately 7,170 lbs (3,260 kg) and is powered by a J-85 engine producing 2,700 pounds of thrust.

How many Snowbirds are there?

The 431 Air Demonstration Squadron consists of approximately 80 Canadian Forces personnel, 24 of whom comprise the show team that travels during the show season. The Snowbirds' demanding schedule is met through the dedicated teamwork of not only the eleven military pilots and technicians, but also the entire home team.

How many shows do the Snowbirds perform each year?

The actual number of shows flown by the Snowbirds varies slightly each year. On average they will fly approximately 60 air shows at 40 different locations across North America.

How much time do the Snowbirds spend travelling?

The Snowbirds leave their home base in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan and travel to Comox, British Columbia in April each year for about two weeks to practice over different terrain. Starting in May until mid-October each year the team travels across North America performing at various air shows. Throughout the six month air show season, the Snowbirds return to their home base about four times for a couple of days to perform some maintenance on the aircraft.

How does someone become a Snowbird pilot or technician?

All members of the Snowbirds are Canadian Forces personnel who have accumulated years of military experience prior to joining the squadron. Each year, military pilots and technicians who aspire to be in the squadron apply for a position with the Snowbirds. They are selected based on skill and experience. Additionally, pilots undergo a rigorous series of try-outs to evaluate their formation-flying proficiency.

How long does each Snowbird stay with the Team?

Normally the tour of duty for the pilots is limited to three years each; each year, one third of the pilots changes. This benefits the team by allowing the second and third year members to train the new first year pilots which maintains consistency in Snowbird operations. To ensure on-going training within the Squadron, making sure skills and expertise are developed for the long term sustainment of our mission, technicians can stay for a number of years with 431 Squadron.

How is the Snowbird Team Lead (Boss) chosen?

The Boss must hold the rank of Major and have flown as a Snowbird earlier in his career. Recommendations for the position are provided by the current Boss to the Wing Commander and Commander 1 Canadian Air Division. The Commander 1 Canadian Air Division then offers the position to the pilot they feel is best suited to handle the demands of the job.

How do I get the Snowbirds to fly at our air show?

In the "Hosting" section of this site, an application form to have the Snowbirds perform at your show is available. This form must be filled out and sent to the Snowbirds' office no later than 1 September of the year preceding the planned air show. This form should include all of the details of your event such as the proposed and alternate dates and times of the event, location of the planned performance, purpose of the air show, etc. Once these letters are received, our coordinators review the requests and select those sites that will give exposure to the largest number of people and cover the greatest number of geographic regions in Canada.

What does the Snowbird crest symbolize?

This design originates from the location of the Snowbirds' home base in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan. As a prairie province, one of Saskatchewan's main crops is wheat. As a tribute to their home province, Saskatchewan, the Snowbird crest displays four speedbirds, in formation, resembling an ear of wheat. The speed bird is also shown on the bottom of each Snowbird aircraft.

Why is there a blue stripe painted along the side of the jets?

The Snowbirds' predecessor, the Golden Centennaires, was a nine-plane aerobatic team formed in 1967 to commemorate Canada's Centennial anniversary. The bottom of their CT-114 Tutor aircraft was painted blue. The Snowbirds decided to paint a blue stripe along their aircraft as a tribute to the Golden Centennaires.

Where did the Snowbirds get their name?

A "Name the Team" contest was held at the local base elementary school in June of 1971. The winner was a Grade 6 student by the name of Doug Farmer. Mr. Farmer was able to join the team on a media ride at the Abbotsford, BC Airshow in 2000.

How fast do you fly?

The top speed of the aircraft, with smoke tanks attached, is 412 knots (470 mph or 750 km/h). During a performance, the Snowbirds will fly at speeds ranging from 100 knots (115 mph or 185 km/h) to 320 knots (370 mph or 590 km/h).

How close are the jets when they are flying in formation?

The distance between each Snowbird jet in many of the formations is about 1.2 metres (4 feet). When flying at speeds of 600 km/hr a large amount of skill is required by the pilot to maintain this distance throughout the performance.

When the two solo aircraft perform their head-on passes, how fast are they flying and how close do they get to one another?

The solos aim to be approximately 10 metres apart when they cross. With a speed of close to 600 km/hr for each jet, the closure speed of the jets is very close to the speed of sound.

How is the white smoke made?

Underneath the jets there are two fuel pods (tanks) which contain diesel fuel. There is a tube from each tank to the exhaust at the back of the engine. The pilot squeezes a trigger on the control stick which starts the flow of diesel from the tank to the engine exhaust. When the diesel fuel enters the exhaust, it immediately vaporizes and creates a white smoke trail. To stop the flow of diesel fuel, the pilot squeezes the trigger one more time. This smoke trail dissipates before it reaches the ground and is considered harmless.

I've been to an air show and saw only eight aircraft flying instead of all nine. Was one of them broken?

The Snowbirds have two jets that are flown by the Coordinators that are used as spare aircraft for the performance. If at any time during the performance one of the nine jets becomes unserviceable, the pilot lands the jet and uses one of the spare aircraft. Since the Snowbirds do not have any spare pilots, if one of the pilots gets sick, then that person cannot fly in the show. The Team will then make minor changes to their performance and fly without that one pilot.

What happens if the Boss gets sick?

That is a more serious problem since the Snowbirds don't have a spare Boss. If the Boss cannot fly, then the Snowbirds will not fly.

How can I go flying with the Snowbirds?

Unfortunately the Snowbirds are not permitted to take the general public flying with them. There are occasions when they are authorized to take a member of the media on a designated flight that does not involve aerobatics. These people are carefully screened to ensure they are healthy and the flight would not endanger themselves or the pilots flying the aircraft. The purpose of media flights is to share with them the exhilaration of military formation flying so that they can pass this information to the general public in their publication or television show. In return, the media provide excellent exposure to the Canadian Forces, the Snowbirds and the air show. The Snowbirds would enjoy sharing with many people the thrill of flying the Tutor aircraft and formation flying, however as you can imagine the requests would be overwhelming and impossible to administer. Since they cannot take the general public flying with them, they do attempt to meet as many spectators as they can at the air shows before and after performances to describe the flying experience and answer questions.

Can you send me pictures of the Snowbirds?

Providing photos is extremely costly and not within the Snowbirds annual operating budget. However, the Snowbirds provide a colourful brochure which includes history of the squadron, air show schedule, photos of each Snowbird person, and an exciting poster. These brochures are available at each air show site where the Snowbirds perform or can be obtained by writing a letter, including your address and phone number, to them at:

431 (AD) Sqn
15 Wing
Box 5000
Moose Jaw, Sk
S6H 7Z8

FAQ

  1. Quel type d’avion les Snowbirds pilotent-ils?
  2. Combien de Snowbirds y a-t-il?
  3. Combien de spectacles les Snowbirds présentent-ils chaque année?
  4. Combien de temps les Snowbirds passent-ils en déplacement?
  5. Comment devient-on un pilote ou un technicien des Snowbirds?
  6. Quelle est la durée de la période de service des Snowbirds au sein de l’équipe?
  7. De quelle manière le chef d’équipe des Snowbirds est-il choisi?
  8. Que dois-je faire pour inviter les Snowbirds à participer à notre spectacle aérien?
  9. Que représente l’écusson des Snowbirds?
  10. Pourquoi y a-t-il une bande bleue peinte sur le côté des avions?
  11. D’où vient le nom des Snowbirds?
  12. À quelle vitesse les Snowbirds volent-ils?
  13. Quelle est la distance entre les avions quand ils volent en formation?
  14. Lorsque les deux pilotes solos exécutent un passage face à face, à quelle vitesse se déplacent-ils et quelle est la distance la plus courte entre les avions?
  15. Comment la fumée blanche est-elle produite?
  16. J’ai déjà assisté à un spectacle aérien où seulement huit appareils évoluaient. Est-ce qu’un avion était en panne?
  17. Que se passe-t-il si le chef d’équipe tombe malade?
  18. Que dois-je faire pour embarquer dans un avion des Snowbirds?
  19. Pouvez-vous m’envoyer des photos des Snowbirds?


Quel type d’avion les Snowbirds pilotent-ils?

Les Snowbirds pilotent le Tutor (CT-114) de Canadair, un avion à réaction construit au Canada que les Forces canadiennes ont utilisé comme avion d’entraînement de base pour les pilotes de 1963 à 2000. L’appareil Tutor pèse environ 7 170 lb (3 260 kg), et il est propulsé par un turboréacteur J-85 capable de produire 2 700 livres de poussée.

Combien de Snowbirds y a-t-il?

Le 431e Escadron de démonstration aérienne est composé d’environ 80 membres des Forces canadiennes, dont 24 qui forment l’équipe de démonstration et se déplacent pendant la saison des spectacles. Les Snowbirds sont capables de respecter leur calendrier exigeant grâce à l’esprit d’équipe indéfectible des onze pilotes militaires, des techniciens et de toute l’équipe d’attache.

Combien de spectacles les Snowbirds présentent-ils chaque année?

Le nombre de spectacles que présentent les Snowbirds varie d’une année à l’autre. En moyenne, ils participent à une soixantaine de spectacles aériens dans 40 endroits différents en Amérique du Nord.

Combien de temps les Snowbirds passent-ils en déplacement?

En avril, chaque année, les Snowbirds quittent leur base d’attache à Moose Jaw (Saskatchewan) pour se rendre à Comox (Colombie-Britannique), où ils s’entraînent pendant deux semaines au-dessus de divers types de terrains. De mai jusqu’à la mi-octobre, l’équipe sillonne l’Amérique du Nord, participant à de nombreux spectacles aériens. Pendant la saison des spectacles, qui dure six mois, les Snowbirds retournent à Moose Jaw environ quatre fois et ils y restent quelques jours pendant que les appareils font l’objet de travaux de maintenance.

Comment devient-on un pilote ou un technicien des Snowbirds?

Pour faire partie des Snowbirds, il faut être membres des Forces canadiennes et avoir accumulé des années d’expérience militaire avant de se joindre à l’escadron. Chaque année, des pilotes et des techniciens militaires souhaitant se joindre à l’escadron déposent leur candidature. Ils sont sélectionnés en fonction de leur compétence et de leur expérience. De plus, les pilotes sont soumis à des tests rigoureux destinés à juger de leur aptitude à voler en formation.

Quelle est la durée de la période de service des Snowbirds au sein de l’équipe?

La période de service d’un pilote des Snowbirds est normalement limitée à trois ans. Un tiers des pilotes est renouvelé tous les ans, ce qui permet à ceux qui sont dans leur deuxième ou troisième année d’entraîner les nouveaux. Cette manière de fonctionner est avantageuse pour l’équipe, car elle assure une certaine continuité dans les opérations des Snowbirds. Afin d’offrir une instruction continue au sein de l’escadron et de s’assurer que les techniciens acquièrent les compétences et l’expertise nécessaire pour le maintien à long terme de notre mission, ces derniers peuvent demeurer pendant de nombreuses années au 431e Escadron.

Comment est choisi le chef d’équipe des Snowbirds?

Le chef d’équipe doit détenir le grade de major et avoir été de pilote des Snowbirds au cours de sa carrière. Le titulaire du poste de chef d’équipe présente ses recommandations au commandant de l’Escadre ainsi qu’au commandant de la 1re Division aérienne du Canada. Ce dernier offre le poste au pilote qui, à son avis, saura le mieux répondre aux exigences du poste.

Que dois-je faire pour inviter les Snowbirds à participer à notre spectacle aérien?

Si vous souhaitez que les Snowbirds participent à votre spectacle aérien, vous devez remplir le formulaire de demande qui se trouve dans la section « Invitation [AR1] » de ce site et le faire parvenir au bureau des Snowbirds au plus tard le 1er septembre de l’année précédant la date du spectacle aérien que vous organisez. Vous devez indiquer sur le formulaire tous les renseignements au sujet de votre événement, notamment les dates et les heures spectacle proposées, l’endroit où aura lieu l’événement et le but de votre spectacle aérien. Une fois le formulaire reçu, votre demande sera étudiée par nos coordonnateurs. Les endroits choisis sont ceux qui permettront au plus grand nombre de spectateurs de voir les Snowbirds et qui couvrent le plus grand nombre de régions géographiques au Canada.

 [AR1]There does not seem to be a “Hosting” section on the website. There is a “Book the Snowbirds, CF-18 Demo team and display aircraft” (“Accueillez les Snowbirds, l’équipe de démonstration du CF-18, et expositions statiques” I suggest “Invitation” for “Hosting”

Que représente l’écusson des Snowbirds?

L’écusson rend hommage au lieu où se situe la base d’attache des Snowbirds : Moose Jaw (Saskatchewan). En tant que province des Prairies, la Saskatchewan a comme culture de base le blé. L’écusson des Snowbirds arbore ainsi quatre oiseaux en vol rapide, en formation, rappelant un épi de blé. On retrouve aussi cet oiseau sur le ventre de chacun de leurs appareils.

Pourquoi y a-t-il une bande bleue peinte sur le côté des avions?

Les prédécesseurs des Snowbirds, les Paladins du Centenaire, étaient une équipe de voltige aérienne composée de neuf avions qui fut mise sur pied en 1967 pour souligner le centenaire du Canada. Le ventre des appareils CT-114 Tutor dont se servait cette équipe était peint en bleu. Les Snowbirds ont donc décidé de peindre une ligne bleue le long des avions en hommage aux Paladins du Centenaire.

D’où vient le nom des Snowbirds?

Les Snowbirds doivent leur nom à Douglas Farmer, élève d’une école élémentaire de la BFC Moose Jaw, qui a remporté le concours « Nommez l’équipe de démonstration » en 1971. M. Farmer a eu l’occasion de participer à un vol réservé aux médias pendant le spectacle aérien d’Abbotsford (C.-B.) en 2000.

À quelle vitesse les Snowbirds volent-ils?

La vitesse maximale de l’avion, en configuration avec les réservoirs à fumée, est de 412 nœuds (470 mi/h ou 750 km/h). Au cours d’une démonstration aérienne, les Snowbirds peuvent voler à des vitesses comprises entre 100 nœuds (115 mi/h ou 185 km/h) et 320 nœuds (370 mi/h ou 590 km/h).

Quelle est la distance entre les avions quand ils volent en formation?

Dans bon nombre des formations, la distance entre les avions des Snowbirds est d’environ 1,2 m (4 pi). Les pilotes doivent être très habiles pour maintenir cette distance à une vitesse de 600 km/h pendant la durée du spectacle.

Lorsque les deux pilotes solos exécutent un passage face à face, à quelle vitesse se déplacent-ils et quelle est la distance la plus courte entre les avions?

Les pilotes solos tentent de se croiser à environ 10 m de distance. Puisque chaque avion se déplace à près de 600 km/h, la vitesse de rapprochement atteint presque la vitesse du son.

Comment la fumée blanche est-elle produite?

Il y a deux nacelles (réservoirs) contenant du carburant diesel sous l’aéronef. Les nacelles sont connectées au système d’échappement du moteur. Lorsque l’aviateur appuie sur la détente sur le manche, du carburant diesel coule vers le système d’échappement, puis se vaporise instantanément et produit une traînée blanche. Pour arrêter l’écoulement de carburant, le pilote n’a qu’à appuyer sur la détente encore une fois. La traînée de fumée, qui se disperse avant de toucher le sol, est jugée inoffensive.

J’ai déjà assisté à un spectacle aérien où seulement huit appareils évoluaient. Est-ce qu’un avion était en panne?

Les Snowbirds disposent de deux avions qui sont utilisés par les coordonnateurs et qui servent de remplacement lors des spectacles. Si un des neuf avions devient inutilisable pendant un spectacle, le pilote doit atterrir, et il peut utiliser l’un des avions de rechange. Étant donné que les Snowbirds n’ont pas de pilotes remplaçants, si un des pilotes tombe malade, il ne peut pas participer au spectacle. Conséquemment, l’équipe doit modifier légèrement le programme et présenter le spectacle sans ce pilote.

Que se passe-t-il si le chef d’équipe tombe malade?

Cette situation est plus problématique puisque les Snowbirds n’ont qu’un seul chef d’équipe. Lorsque celui-ci ne peut pas piloter, les Snowbirds ne volent pas.

Que dois-je faire pour embarquer dans un avion des Snowbirds?

Malheureusement, les Snowbirds n’ont pas l’autorisation d’emmener des membres du public à bord de leurs appareils. À certaines occasions, ils sont autorisés à emmener des représentants des médias lors de vols désignés qui ne comprennent pas de voltige aérienne. Les personnes sont choisies soigneusement : elles doivent être en bonne santé et le vol ne doit mettre en danger ni le passager ni le pilote de l’avion. L’objectif de ces vols est de partager avec les représentants des médias l’euphorie qu’on ressent lors des vols militaires en formation afin qu’ils puissent transmettre cette information au public dans leur publication ou leur émission de télévision. À leur tour, les médias font la publicité des Snowbirds, des Forces canadiennes et des spectacles aériens. Les Snowbirds aimeraient pouvoir offrir à de nombreuses personnes l’expérience de voler dans leurs avions Tutor et en formation. Or, comme vous pouvez bien l’imaginer, il serait impossible de gérer l’énorme quantité de demandes. Puisqu’ils ne sont pas en mesure d’offrir aux membres du public la possibilité de monter à bord de leurs appareils, les Snowbirds essayent de rencontrer le plus autant de spectateurs que possible avant et après leurs spectacles pour partager leurs expériences et répondre aux questions.

Pouvez-vous m’envoyer des photos des Snowbirds?

La distribution de photos coûte très cher et cette dépense n’est pas prévue dans le budget de fonctionnement annuel des Snowbirds. Par contre, les Snowbirds ont un dépliant en couleur qui présente d’un côté l’histoire de l’escadron, le calendrier annuel des spectacles aériens et des photos de chaque membre de l’équipe, et de l’autre une affiche captivante. Les dépliants sont disponibles à chaque spectacle auquel participent les Snowbirds. Vous pouvez aussi vous en procurer un en envoyant une lettre, avec votre adresse et numéro de téléphone, à l’adresse suivante :

431 EDA                                                                                                                                               15e Escadre                                                                                                                                                    C.P. 5000                                                                                                                                                            Moose Jaw (Saskatchewan)                                                                                                                                                     S6H 7Z8